Locking an invoice means you will not be able to edit the invoice or edit events associated with the invoice (like moving, adding, or removing events) unless you specifically “unlock” the invoice. This can be useful to prevent making accidental changes to an invoice.
In This Article
Locking An Invoice
You can manually lock any invoice at any time by opening the Edit Invoice screen and clicking the "Lock Invoice" button.
Configuring Auto Invoice Locking
In Invoice Settings, you can configure your settings to automatically lock invoices when they are paid and/or emailed to the client. This will prevent you from making accidental changes to an invoice that has already been seen by your client.
- Using the sidebar navigation select “Settings”.
- Click on “Invoicing & Payments” in the sidebar.
- You can disable/enable auto-locking when invoices are emailed and when a payment is applied.
- Don’t forget to Save your changes.
As an example, if a client pays $100 for an Invoice, and the next day a $20 service is added, this would move the Invoice from 'Paid' to 'Past Due'. Many companies would rather this visit be added to a new invoice instead, and auto-locking makes it really easy to do that. A locked invoice can still have payments applied and is still visible to clients in their portal; however, no other changes can be made to the invoice while locked.
Unlocking An Invoice
Invoices can be unlocked at any time.
Unlocking from the Scheduler
When a locked invoice is loaded on your Scheduler a "Locked" button will be shown in the top right corner:
Click on this button to unlock the invoice.
Unlocking/Locking From Invoice Editor
While editing an invoice, you can unlock or lock it at any time.
- Edit the invoice in question.
- Scroll to the bottom of the invoice and look for the Lock/Unlock button.
- Click this button. If the invoice is currently locked, the button will display “Unlock Invoice”. If the invoice is currently unlocked, the button with display “Lock Invoice”.