Staff Member Access
A staff member (or "user" if you use independent contractors) is a company member with limited access to your company and client database. They only have access to the information and tools required to do their job properly. Staff members can be upgraded to an admin or office manager at any time (and downgraded). You can also update specific permissions for staff in Settings >Staff Settings > Permissions.
IN THIS ARTICLE
Staff/users log in to the same dashboard that you do as an admin. However, they have a significantly more limited view with much more strict permissions enforced.
Staff/users have access to the following:
Staff/users have access only to the clients that they have at least one scheduled event for. This prevents sitters from getting access to your company's entire client database.
Staff/users can view contact information for the client, or you can hide this information from staff in your Client Fields. Staff can send clients messages through the Conversation Feed. They can also see their service history, but cannot see any of the client’s financial information, including their invoices. Staff/users can access the client’s pet information and update it depending on your Staff Permissions settings. They can also upload documents for the client and see previously uploaded documents. They cannot schedule new services for the client.
Staff/users can see their schedule (i.e, events that they are assigned to). They cannot modify the time or details of their assigned events, but they can see these details.
If you want your staff/users to be able to see the entire company calendar (excluding details of clients they are not assigned to/marked as a preferred sitter for), you can enable this in Staff Permissions.
Staff/users can request time off from their schedule. Staff/users that request time off will be shown as unavailable if you attempt to schedule them when they have requested time off. However, as the admin, you can still override the request. They can also clock in for shifts and track their mileage from this view.
Finally, if the admin has enabled Calendar Integration, staff members can sync their personal calendars with their Time To Pet calendar by clicking the "Calendar Integration" button.
In the Documents section, staff members can view and download any documents that have been uploaded by the admin, such as an Employee Handbook.
Staff/users can view and send messages to the admin team from their Conversation Feed in the Messages section.
Staff/users can see any pay stubs/invoices you have generated for them and how much they are paid for each service they perform:
Edit My Info
Staff/users can edit their contact information and update their password. They can also manage notifications if an admin enables these permissions in Staff Permissions.
Modifying Staff/User Role
To change the role for a staff member:
- Log in to your Dashboard.
- Using the sidebar navigation, select “Staff” or "User".
- Locate the Staff Member/User in the list and click their name.
- Click on the blue "Quick Actions" button and click the “Edit" button.
- Scroll down to the bottom under "Permissions" and find the dropdown menu labeled “Role”.
- Change this to the new role and click the button labeled “Update Staff”.
Force Logout is an additional security measure that can be found under the "Quick Actions" menu. This will log the staff member out of Time To Pet on all of their devices. This is helpful in situations where the staff member has misplaced their phone or other device, and you want to ensure nobody can access their staff account that should not have access.
Note: Forcing a logout does not prevent a staff member from logging back into their account. To prevent a staff member from logging in to their account, make them inactive instead: Marking A Staff Member Inactive