Managing Client-Specific Staff Access

In this article, the term "staff" refers to users in Time To Pet in the Trainee, Staff (employee), or User (independent contractor) roles.

In Time To Pet, a staff member is given access to a client's profile when one or both of the following conditions are met:

  • The staff member is assigned to at least one event for the client in the past or the future.
  • The staff member is listed as Preferred Staff on the Details tab of a client's profile.
There are circumstances where a pet care business owner wants to remove a staff member's access to a client profile. Time To Pet offers the ability to revoke specific client access from staff members with the click of a button under the Subscriptions tab of each staff member's profile.

Removing access will prevent the staff member from seeing or interacting with the client as the client will be removed from the client list they have access to, and you will no longer be able to assign them to events with that specific client.

Note: Also located in the Subscriptions tab is the ability to turn off client-specific notifications for that particular staff member. If notifications need to be stopped (while keeping access to the client), this feature accomplishes this. Click here to read more about this feature: Disabling Staff Notifications From Specific Clients.

Removing Staff Member Access From A Specific Client

From the Staff List, select "Edit Details" for the staff member:

staff list -> Edit Details

From here, you can select the "Client Subscriptions" tab, which will show you all of the clients the staff member has access to. To remove access to the client from the staff member, click the toggle switch to off.

Client Subscriptions -> Staff Access toggle

Viewing and Controlling the Remove Access Settings

The "Client Subscriptions" tab displays each client whom the staff member has been assigned to in the past or future, or who has the staff member listed under Preferred Staff. If a client does not currently meet these conditions, but access to that client was previously removed for the staff member, the client will still appear on the list so that access can be restored by an Admin or Office Manager if they choose to do that. Once access has been restored, the client will no longer appear on the list if the staff member is not assigned to any events in the past or future for that client, and the staff member is not a Preferred Staff member for the client.

The "Access?" column, which contains the buttons to remove and restore access to each client, is not visible when a staff member views their own Client Subscriptions tab, and any clients that have access removed for that staff member will not appear on the list at all. Only Admins and Office Managers with the "Manage Staff" permission are able to view the "Access?" column and remove access.

The "Access?" column will not appear on the profiles of Admins and Office Managers with the "Manage Staff" permission, since those staff members must have access to all clients. Access cannot be removed from those staff members.

example of Client Subscriptions tab on staff profile

Notification Subscriptions

When access to a specific client has been removed, it will automatically turn notification subscriptions off for that staff member for that specific client, and that is locked until the staff member has access again. A reminder that the "Access?" column is only visible to Admins and Office Managers with the "Manage Staff" permission enabled.

sample Client Subscription tab with notification and access removed

Removing Access Barrier Scenarios

A few scenarios may require a few extra steps before a staff member can have their access removed from a specific client, as found below.

Preferred Staff Members

Removing access from a staff member who is a Preferred Staff member for that client will require first removing the staff member as a Preferred Staff member from the Details tab on the client's profile before access can be removed.

Future Scheduled Events

Removing access from a staff member who is currently assigned to future events in the Scheduled status will require reassigning future events to a different staff member. Once that is complete, access can be removed. You can still remove access if future events are marked as Completed or Cancelled. You can always remove access if assigned events are in the past, even if it's still in the Scheduled status or the Cancelled status. This allows for past reporting to stay intact and remain accurate.

Bulk Update allows searching by a specific client and specific staff member to be able to quickly reassign events in bulk.

Templates

Removing access from a staff member who is currently assigned to pending template events will require first reassigning pending template events to a different staff member before access can be removed. Instructions for updating the staff member assigned to pending template events can be found here: Editing Template Services.

remove access -> staff member scheduled for template event error

Marking Another Staff Member As Inactive

When marking another staff member as inactive and reassigning their events, warnings will show if you are trying to assign to a staff member who does not have access to that specific client. The staff member whom the events are being reassigned to will need access to all associated clients first. After their access has been restored, you can then go back and mark the other staff member as inactive, and the upcoming events will be able to be reassigned.

The same is true for handling clients for whom the staff member being deactivated is a Preferred Staff member. If you choose the "Replace with..." option to replace the Preferred Staff listings with the specified staff member, that staff member must first have access to all of those clients.

Inactive Staff Reassignment warnings

Selecting Staff Members From Dropdowns

Anytime you select a staff member from a dropdown for a specific client, if their access has been removed, they will show under the Access Removed section at the bottom of the list. Their name will be greyed out and not selectable. Access will need to be restored to allow the staff member to be scheduled for that client. Dropdowns are found anytime the action pertains to a specific client. For example, the Bulk Edit tool, editing individual events, approving new or change requests, the Daily Summary, Geo Schedule tool, etc.

sample dropdown -> Access Removed

Bulk Update

Bulk Update works slightly differently as it looks at multiple clients at the same time. A warning will show if you reassign events to a staff member who does not have access to one or more of the clients selected during the Bulk Update process. You can then either restore access to those clients for the staff member, select a different staff member who does have access, or back out and unselect the specific event(s) for any clients that the staff member does not have access to, so the other events can be reassigned and the Bulk Update action to Reassign Visits can be completed.

bulk update re-assign visits warning sample

Changing Staff Roles

When updating a staff member's role from Trainee or Staff to Administrator or Office Manager, if the staff member currently has access to any clients removed, an error will show, and access for that staff member will need to be restored to all clients before the role update can be completed. Once the staff member has access to all clients, you can click "Save Changes" again to finish updating the role to Administrator or Office Manager. Administrators and Office Managers have access to all client profiles, so access must be enabled for all clients before the role can be updated.

Staff member role update errors

Restoring Access

To restore access, navigate to the staff member's profile from the Staff List and select "Edit Details" for the staff member. From here, you can select the "Client Subscriptions" tab, which will show you all of the clients the staff member has access to. To restore access to the client for the staff member, click the toggle switch to "On" under the "Access?" column.

When restoring access, you will be asked if you want to turn notification subscriptions back on, with the option to select "Yes" or "No". Notification Subscriptions can always be enabled or disabled later as well from the Client Subscriptions tab on the staff member's profile.

Subscribe to client notifications prompt

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us