The Portal Settings page allows you to change various settings that affect how your clients interact with the Client Portal. All of the settings are listed below with a description.
In This Article
- Client Portal Tag
- Allow Clients To Create Account
- Private Messaging Enabled
- Show Sitter To Clients
- Show Paid Invoices in Portal
- Hide Draft Invoices From Portal
- Show Prices in Portal
- Allow Tipping In Portal
- Portal Notification
- Force Required Fields
- Require Credit Card
- Client Service Request Limits
- Change/Cancellation Request Type
Client Portal Tag
This is the URL that your clients will use to access your Client Portal website. You can leave this blank and clients will simply log in via https://www.timetopet.com/portal, however, your company information will not be shown until after they log in. Most customers will set their client portal tag to match their business name and will add this as a link to their website, usually underneath a “Client Login” button in their Header section. For detailed information on adding your Client Portal tag to your website - review our Adding The Client Portal Tag To Your Website help article.
Allow Clients To Create Accounts
By default, clients cannot create their own accounts. Setting this option to “Yes, Accounts Require Approval” will allow your clients to create their own account which will be in a pending state until approved by an administrator. Setting this option to “Yes, Auto Approve Accounts” will allow your clients to create their own account without having to be approved by an administrator; these clients will be automatically added to your Client List and have access to their client account after they submit your New Client Form. All administrators will be notified when a new account is created.
When set to “Yes, Accounts Require Approval” or “Yes, Auto Approve Accounts”, this option will display a unique url that you can put on your website so that clients can start creating their own accounts.
You can also customize which fields new clients are required to fill out before creating their account. Note it is not possible to remove the Name or Email fields from the list.
Private Messaging Enabled
When enabled, Admins can send and view “Private Messages” to clients that are not visible by staff members. Review our Private Messaging help article for more information.
Show Sitters To Clients
When enabled, clients will be able to see who their assigned staff member is for upcoming events.
Show Paid Invoices In Portal
When enabled, clients will have access to their “Paid” invoices in the client portal. If payments and tipping are enabled, clients will be able to add tips to their “Paid” invoices as well.
Hide Draft Invoices From Portal
When enabled, Time To Pet will hide all invoices that are currently in the “Draft” status from clients. To learn more about Invoice Statuses, review our help article.
Show Prices In Portal
When enabled, clients will be able to view the prices of your services when submitting a service order request.
Allow Tipping In Portal
When enabled, clients will have the option to add a tip to an invoice when making a payment. For more information on Tipping In Time To Pet, review our help article.
When enabled, Time To Pet will show your clients a banner notification at the top of every page in their client portal. This is most commonly used for announcements you would like to make to all customers such as “Please request holiday services ASAP”.
Portal notifications have three states:
Not Shown – Will not be displayed in the Portal.
Visible – Visible in the Portal forever.
Visible With Expiration Date – Visible until the specified expiration date is passed (the message will be displayed on the expiration date, but not after).
When visible, the Portal Notification appears like this:
Force Required Fields For Scheduling Requests
It can be pretty hard to pet sit when you don’t know a client’s address. This option allows you to force your clients to fill out required profile information before any scheduling requests can be submitted. By default in Time To Pet only the client’s name is required. You can, however, make any field required in the Custom Field configuration.
No - Missing required fields will not be checked.
Yes, Client Info Only - The system will only verify that required fields are all filled out on the My Info section.
Yes, Client & Pet Info - The system will verify that My Info and each pet has all required fields filled out.
Yes, Client/Pet Info & Require at least 1 pet - Not only will the system verify that all required fields are filled out, and it will also verify that the client has at least one pet on file.
When requesting services and the required checks fail, your client will see a notification similar to this:
Require Credit Card To Request Services
If set to Yes, this setting will require a client to have a credit card on file before requesting services. This setting will only take effect if your company has Credit Card Processing enabled.
Client Service Request Limits
You can prevent customers from submitting service order requests without enough advance notice by using the tool.
Change/Cancellation Request Type
This setting controls whether your clients can make change and cancellation requests on specific visits (which then have to be approved in Dashboard) or if they have to send you a general message describing the change they would like to be made.
Client Sends General Message
This setting will show a text box when the client makes a change or cancellation request in the Client Portal or Mobile App. The client can include the details of their request within this box to be sent to the admin to review.
Client Makes Requests Against Specific Visits
When selected, additional configuration options will populate for change and cancellation requests. This setting enables clients to select specific events in the Client Portal or Mobile app that they'd like to make changes to or cancel. The request is then sent to the admin to approve or deny.
Change/Cancel Request Limits
These settings allow you to prevent customers from submitting change or cancellation requests to existing visits without enough advance notice. Limits can be configured as no requests for the same day after a specified time, no requests for tomorrow after a specified time, or no requests earlier than a certain amount of hours in advance.
Auto Approve Cancel Requests
This setting allows you to optionally automatically approve cancellation requests.